Gov. Walker: Wisconsin Will Not Accept Syrian Refugees

Governor Scott Walker announced Monday that Wisconsin will not accept any Syrian refugees. 

Governor Walker says that in the aftermath of the Paris terrorist attacks, many refugees pose a threat to the United States. 

Walker issued a statement calling on President Obama to not allow any Syrian refugees into the United States pending a full review of security and acceptance procedures. 

Governors of several other states, including Michigan, Alabama and Texas have all raised concerns and will not allow Syrian refugees to resettle in their state. 

Immigration experts say, however, governors have no legal authority to block refugees from coming in.  

Meanwhile, Minnesota Governor Mark Dayton has not objected to the idea as long as refugees undergo rigorous screening first. 

Dayton issued a statement Monday saying he was assured by the White House that any refugees from the war-torn country would be subject to the highest level security checks of any traveler to the United States. 

In September, the Obama administration pledged to accept 10,000 Syrian refugees over the next 12 months. 

Several Republican lawmakers are calling on the U.S. to close its borders to Syrian refugees.  

The attacks in Paris on Friday killed 129 people and left more than 350 injured. 

Categories: Crime-imported, News-imported, Police-imported, Politics-imported