Governor Dayton Signs Emergency Executive Order

State of Peacetime Emergency for areas of southern Minnesota

Governor Mark Dayton signed Emergency Executive Order 16-08 on Tuesday, proclaiming a state of peacetime emergency for areas of southern Minnesota affected by significant rainfalls last week.

Rains that began on September 21, have caused significant flooding and damage to public infrastructure and private property in the area.

Affected counties covered by the Governor’s order are Anoka, Blue Earth, Cottonwood, Dodge, Faribault, Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodhue, Hennepin, Houston, Le Sueur, Mower, Nicollet, Olmsted, Ramsey, Rice, Scott, Sibley, Steele, Wabasha, Waseca, Washington, and Winona.

In addition to declaring a state of peacetime emergency in those counties, the Governor’s order directs the Department of Public Safety, Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management, along with all other state agencies, to continues providing assistance and support to affected communities.

Categories: Environment-imported, News-imported, Politics-imported